oikos Academy Lecture 3 – Green Technology

Leave a comment

On a third lecture of oikos Academy Fall Mr Kurt O. Nielsen (City Account Manager at Siemens A/S) spoke us about Green Technology. So for the ones who were not there or who were but could not concentrate or just want to refresh the memory, here are some ideas that I got out from the lecture.

It is not the secret that the main pollution takes place in cities. That is the reason why the cities have recently engaged in sustainable plans to reduce it. After some historical examples like Cold War and The Space Race I can see a pattern that cities are also pretty competitive and that is why I would call it “Sustainable war” among cities. So the goal is to become the least polluting city in the world and Siemens of course will help to measure it.

Besides of the cities companies also set up ambitious targets that in my opinion have already been written in marketing plan. And Siemens is not an exception. A great way to get to know it is to visit Siemens Center of Competence Cities in London. It is also a good option if you have already visited all the other possible sights in London. I will definitely take it into my plan.

And my favorite part of the lecture was about how Green Technology greats value for the city. For instance I had never heard about eHighway that reduces the emission for heavy transport with hybrid trucks. Related to other example, I have had some experience with toll road in Miami. It is a separated road on highway called SunPass. If you purchase the access beforehand you could drive there and get to the destination faster since there are usually traffic jams on other roads. Of course I did not know that back then and had to pay 100-dollar fine for driving on SunPass without prepaying for it. So remember it when going to Miami.

See you in the last but not least lecture =)

eHighway

Leave a comment